Beauty as a unifying motivation for human evolution

Really just pondering out loud here.

What I mean is, beyond things we do to avoid pain, I wonder if what we want (or at least one of the things we want) is experiences of beauty. I feel like beauty is a universal force. That we can sense this force and enjoy it makes it all the more a good opportunity. The reason I feel this is a force is because of the idea that beauty or aesthetics are what comes out of the application or realization of an extremely efficient algorithm. The more efficient something is, the more beautiful. Efficiency is kind of loose as I’m not sure if it is always about a physical efficiency, but sometimes it could be more cognitive. Like, it looks better because it is easier to process.

Diamonds > Mud
Symetrical faces > Asymetrical Faces
metaphor allows for packing a lot of information in a small area

Also that this ease of processing isn’t only about mathematical efficiency but also about qualitative efficiency (although maybe this does have a mathematical foundation I don’t know).

Song lyrics that use names or places that give a deeper meaning
Uses of older or stronger forms of speaking
Red hair or blue eyes stands out and is novel

Then there is music and I wonder if music is more about the communication of emotional perspectives which CAN be beautiful but don’t have to be this way. However if they are beautiful they will probably be more well remembered.

Languages
For me when I hear Taiwanese Mandarin I actually feel really good listening to it, where as with other accents I might actually feel demotivated it seems. It’s something I will have watch out for.
Also the writing system is beautiful but it is also packed with metaphor/symbolism.
(Taiwanese Mandarin is like British accented English, it has that nice texture)

Anyways, So it is interesting to think about this because I guess I am motivated by curiosity somewhat but I don’t think I go out of my way consciously to seek it out. Well when I’m bored I do. However, creating beauty is a process of taking control of life in a way. Like, it really involves a lot of thinking which is great, and the reward is also great.

Now, as a lifestyle it would be very difficult to focus solely on creating. It seems important to also create an inspiring environment. Same with learning languages and other stuff. Now, with technology it is easy to get new music etc, however, even without this, we still have nature which is very beautiful, full of very efficient algorithms.

I’ve thought and I think wrote about this before. The idea that if I were to focus on improving myself I could focus on my ability to create beauty. To have beauty come out of every pore of my being.

Like, iunno, like a Tristan type character. The type of character that became like a legend for just the way they were. Not that my focus should necessarily be on how there people perceive me. That’s just the thing. I want to have something where the goal and what I gain from it is intrinsic. Although sharing it afterwards is cool I guess. More over, it would be good if that thing I focus on has a sort of greater usefulness, which I think beauty does.

I feel like this lifestyle, Aestheticism or something lifestyle, could be very useful, not to mention it’s something that most people understand and appreciate. It’s not something where only a certain type of person sees the value in it, but instead it’s something where the vast majority people are seeking these aesthetic ideals.

I see the possibility that focusing on beauty will lead to a lot of universal understanding as the better we get at creating beauty, it will rely on our understanding of it. It, beauty, which I feel may be a natural sense we have of efficiency as it relates to human thriving. Note symmetrical/attractive faces = better immune systems on average. Not that I’m saying a painting will revolutionize medicine. Doctors are still super important lol, and there are people who will WANT to be doctors. I’m just thinking, is it possible that my understanding of beauty could somehow become a scientifically useful contribution.

So I am just trying to think in what ways do I want to proceed with this. I thin I want to focus on:
Language, Music, Body building, and I might add in poetry/lyrics, that plus my random thoughts on the universe whenever curiosity or inspiration hits.

Leave a Reply

