Hanzi Burnout impending: My Counter Measures

well I’m starting to get that burnout feeling with the Hanzi again. Well, either that or it’s that I did them right after a wheat based meal and that is the real problem. and/or sleep.

I’m gonna try something though because I think the problem is reviews and new mnemonics are both too much of a strain.
Btw, I’ll note I’m not using RTH. WHy? Well mainly as a challenge.

So, during reviews I’m gonna skip any Hanzi I can’t get really fast, and for reviews If I don’t know it in 10seconds I’ll suspend. it. Also I could even try to add a new one for each Hanzi I suspend in this way.

As for learning new ones, my pIan is to go through the deck learning all the easy ones first. Skip any of them that I can’t easily make a story for. I might even focus on etymology, or what seems like it would be the etymology or could make sense in that way. Those seem to be the best for me in terms of memorizing. The ones that are enjoyable to do.

Then I go back through the deck and the ones that WERE hard will be less hard the second time through because I’ll be able to use my knowledge of the already known characters as a stronger base. I’ll just keep doing that, making it so I am only ever learning easy Hanzi.

Ok I’ll try it.

Also I’ll add, that peole usually can do rtk/rth and learn them in 2-3 months at 20-25 a day. For me it’s been 10/day and taking 30+ minutes. I know it’s because I’m not using rth so I’m left having to come up with stories including 4+ elements which rth would avoid.

So I think this new idea will adress that problem because I will skip over any characters that have more that 2 elements, unless I can make sense of them right away.

Also it’s actually very interesting that the characters where I make mnemonics using stories about super heros ect, actually make me mad and frusterated (which leads to burn out). Where as the characters where I just make sense of the radicals in some way, lead to satisfaction. I’m going to take this seriously. I feel it has to do with my personality, where I enjoy learning things conceptual logical things, and dislike learning things that have no connection to anything else (and a very strong example of having no connection is stories that I make up just to form a memory but that I have no interest in otherwise).

On the macro level the example would be going to school for electronics and computers which is not something I had much interest in, and it being hard. Then now I’m studying psychology and philosophy ect which is very connected to who I am and what I want, and it being easy.

Leave a Reply

