Language Learning Method Developements: Sentences, Muscle memory, Fluency

So I’m almost done acquiring around 150 verbs and I’m starting to feel a bit of a platueau. Not a platueau like I can’t learn as much, but a platueau as in I can’t learn as fast. The rate of doubling of my knowledge and my ability is going to get slower and slower as I keep learning in this way. What I need the next step to keep my progress as exponential as it was when I first started. This doesn’t mean I should some how b able to learn double the vocabulary in the same space of time as when I first started, but I’m not ruling that out lol.

What I’m really looking for is a way to continue feeling like I am exponentially becoming more functional in the language. I will learn more vocab, but beyond that I’m looking for something that I wasn’t able to do easily before learning these verbs but that I can do know, and which will help me improve fast. What I think that something might be… is focusing now on producing simple but complete sentences with verbs, and listening and maybe reading of the same. What this will do is prime my brain for constructing complete sentences, with the verbs I have, and maybe a few more as needed.

Now, I’m thinking I shouldn’t even focus on making sentence flash cards or srs. Really memorizing the sentence is not what matters. Speaking in full sentences created on the spot is what is important. A post or two ago  I think I described the ability to instantly produce words and how critical that is to feel comfortable and free in a language. So I sad if I can speak 100-200 verbs with fluency where I can quickly produce them as needed I will feel a great level of comfort in my ability to express myself. yo intento tyclearo un poco espaniol por hacer me… point lol.  I said I will try to type a bit of spanish to make my point, and I did. This is what I was looking for in learning a language very quickly an efficiently. That’s a basic level of fluency in my opinion. Fluent with only 200 words.

So as I said before, what is the next step. The step that will have me improving at the same astounding rate, fast enough that I remain not bored, while still maintaining what I previously learned. So that next step for me is this. Well there are two options.

1) I will make another list for common nouns, and another for common adverbs, and another for common adjectives, and another for interjections ect. For each type of word memorize maybe 5 words. Then use them in as many sentences with as many verbs as possible. The next day move on to new words for each category but review the old ones somehow. Or, maybe better would be to build up by word category. So first learn 100-200 nouns, and be able to create simple sentences with all the nouns and all the verbs you learned, using the English translations of the word lists as a que for you to create sentences with. Then add learn adverbs and make sentences with all three. ect.

2) another way to go about this is to not even try to memorize any word lists from nouns or the other types and just take a noun list of 100-200 words and start improvising while looking at that list. Then hope at some point you will remember them but this seems very error prone.

3) A third way actually is to not even make anymore word lists but try to talk and try to write and then just look up whatever words you don’t know and hope some of them sink in eventually. The thing about this again is it will take a long time to get words into memory this way and even longer than 2 because there is less guarantee that you’ll use a given word with enough frequency to remember it.

4) A method that is proven and that I can imagine working well is to just start reading. Maybe graded readers to start. Problem for me is I want to be producing sentences sooner. I could read out loud of course. I could use parallell text which is easier in spanish that in something like chinese for overall vocab building. I could also just use sentences I find by search for examples of the verbs.

I’m wondering if development in production just has to slow down but I can make up for it by reading or something else. It seems there is no way to make the same gains I just did by learning more words the same way.

No, I have an idea. Now that I have learned 200 words, the language has really opened itself up to me. To improve now, I need and am able to, work with bigger chunks of language at a time.  I’m pretty sure this was either my last post or part of this post. What I am thinking is…

Sentences, 5 – 10 for each verb, precomposed, maybe by me, using a set number of vocab items that will come up again often in other sentences so they get hammered in. I’m thinki 100-200 of each word category in total. If I do 10 sentences for each verb I will have maybe 5 words in each sentences, on from each category assuming 5 basic word types iunno. Therefore I will be drilling 10 words from each of 5 categories for each verb I study. That means to learn 100 of each category I would only have to study 10 verbs with different words in each sentence. or 20 verbs for 200 words from each categories. That would be 200 sentences, quite a bit but I did that with just verbs and it wasn’t that hard. It’s hard because it will total 1000 new words over 200 sentences which is a lot. Here is the kicker though, that was only 20 out of 100-200 verbs I need to review so what will I do for the rest of those verbs. Well I’ll repeat the process but the same 200 words out of each other categorie for the sentences. So massive amount of review for each of those words. say I have 100 verbs. 20 is the set of 200 of each other word category. The for the next 80 verbs, so 4 more sets of verbs, I am using the same words from those other categories, just becoming more familiar with them.

Now, I still think it would be a mouthful to try and learn that many new words all at once so I could always repeat new nouns sooner in other sentences to decrease my word load and increase my reviews.

This method is cool but too time consuming for me to create perfect 1000 sentences. So I’m going to make it easy on myself and just look up 10 sentences for each verb and hope there is enough vocab and enough frequency to help me out. Also if I can see that whatever website I’m on is spitting out the same sentence with a new verb only or something like that I’ll know to be more choosy. The next thing is I’m not sure if I’ll really srs these sentences. I might want to just have pages that I can just read them off of or even better possibly is recordings I can repeat after and hear a so they move to active faster.

So I’m just looking for 10 sentences per verb, and each of those will be a block that I just read through or listen too and make sure I say it out loud.  I could also do 5 sentences instead of 10 if it will allow for more verbs in one sitting.

This is as much about getting my mouth used to speaking in full sentences as it is about vocab. This is why it is so efficient to do it this way. By the time I am used to speaking Spanish quickly which I will practice doing with these sentences, speaking them as fast as possible, I will have them in muscle memory and so I will have the vocab too! I guess I could balance the increase in muscle memory with vocab by not spending too long on each sentence getting the muscle memory all at once, but just try repeat them as fast as I can once or a few times and then move on.

So I imagine my ability to speak fast will be at part with my ability to speak in full sentences. I guess it’s like a musical instrument where if you can play scales fast and then exercises fast, it enables you to improvise fast as well.  Chose to use scales and exercises for Spanish because I don’t have a vocabulary. I don’t have any chops. Once I have chops, once I have sets of sentences and vocab in my brain that I can draw from, I’m pretty sure  will be able to and will be inspired to improvise.  Having already 150 or so verbs, I know I can do some speaking already. Therefore I don’t expect it to take till 1000 words for me to be inspired to improvise more. I think it’s more of, the more you practice the repeating of sentences and get comfortable moving your mouth in that fashion, the more you will feel comfortable and the inspired to speak spontaneously.  So it might only take a few hundred more words for my mouth to be used to speaking and then I’ll be talking peoples ears off in spanish. Also I guess I don’t have to do 10 or even 5 sentences for each verb all at once.  I could get a list of 1 sentence for each verb and practice repeating those so that I can say them easily. By the time I can say them all fast, I know I’ll have the words in my vocab because each word will be linked to a verb that I already know so I’ll have the sentence in muscle memory with at the very least a huge clue as to the meaning of the whole sentence. Then I can deduce if even necessary the meaning of the individual word.

After this, I go through the process again with a new 100 sentences one for each word, an if I feel like it, make an audio recording of the previous(bb) 100 so I can review or even just listen to it and remember the phrases. The repeat x8.

(bb): I said previous instead of first so that at the end of that instruction I can just say repeat. If I had said first instead of previous, well that would have meant for each repeat, make a recording of the first 100 sentences. With previous….yeah, u know. So I’m not saying memorize. I’m saying repeato after me, all 100 sentences, every day, and soon they will be stuck in your head.

Leave a Reply

